Who said the “Total Consecration” has to be boring?

I’m back from an unintended hiatus. I can’t promise I will post as often as I used to, but I hope this won’t be the last you hear from me. However, this is probably going to be my last in the series of “Who said…” posts, but I think it might be my favorite…

My time in college has really taught me a lot about the diversity of the human race. We all have different hobbies, interests, personalities, temperaments and vocations. Similarly, I think we all have different types of spiritualities and the way we express those can be very different. The Church is composed of many charisms and spiritualities to aid Christians in following Jesus Christ. For example, we have the Charismatic Renewal, Opus Dei, Legatus, Schoenstatt, and Communion and Liberation, just to name a few. I have tried many of these, but have yet to find one that fits just right.

I was talking to someone the other day and he mentioned another opportunity: The Total Consecration to Jesus through Mary by St. Louis Marie de Montfort. This is a resolution to offer everything in your life: your thoughts, actions, words, prayers, joys and sufferings to the Lord by laying them at the feet of Mama Mary. I heard asking our Blessed Mother for her intercession once referred to as being like a stained glass window. When we offer things to the Lord by ourselves, our petitions are there, but can be kind of dull. But when you offer it to Jesus through Mary, our prayers are magnified and beautified like light which has passed through a stained glass window.

At the end of the 33 days of preparation, which always ends on a Marian Feast day, you then are Totally Consecrated. Most people choose to wear a chain-link bracelet around their wrist as a reminder of the commitment. So I thought, as I so often do, why not spice it up and engage the culture? I have compiled a couple great, feminine options for this chain link bracelet. No doubt people will compliment you on it, and some will notice you wear the same one every day. What a perfect opportunity to engage in conversation with people about the Total Consecration, the Blessed Mother and the saints, or just the faith in general?

GOLD AND CRYSTAL LINK BRACELET from J. Crew $34.50

GOLD AND CRYSTAL LINK BRACELET from J. Crew $34.50

 

Chain and Gummy Bracelet from ASOS $5

Chain and Gummy Bracelet from ASOS $5

 

 

Red Silk Chain Bracelet from Jill Michael Jewelry $16

Red Silk Chain Bracelet from Jill Michael Jewelry $16

 

 

Hot Pink Chain Bracelet from Ooh La Luxe $8.50

Hot Pink Chain Bracelet from Ooh La Luxe $8.50

 

2 comments

  1. Claire @ Everything is Grace · August 23, 2013

    So nice to see another post from you! So have you made the Total Consecration to Jesus through Mary yet, or planning to?

    Like

  2. Kari · August 23, 2013

    Love this! The Concecration has been “haunting” me in a good way… and I think your post was the final push. Thanks for posting this! … p.s. I LOVE the J-Crew one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

