What I Wore: Sunday

Today we spent a gorgeous day in Norcia, Italy, the birthplace of Sts. Benedict and Scholastica. It started off foggy and misty, and ended up sunny and hot. It was literally a perfect day. We took the 3 hour bus ride there and started the morning off with Mass at the Poor Clare Cloistered Convent. That was a very beautiful experience. The nuns there are really experiencing a crisis of vocations so they’re praying a lot for new vocations. Our chaplain joked with them “Sisters, you asked that I send any women considering the contemplative life your way: so today I brought 14.” All of us women laughed…nervously. This is what I wore:

IMG_1436 IMG_1441

IMG_1511

Here’s a close-up of the shirt: black and white gingham.

The Benedictine Trappist Monks in Norcia are famous for their beer. At first I thought it would just be something nice to bring back as gifts but then I tried one, and it was the only beer I’ve taken more than one sip of! It was fantastic.

We continued to walk around the city throughout the day, we were able to see all of it, three times over, because it was so small. But it was just perfect. After spending a relaxing day walking around, sipping coffee and building great community, we finished the evening with Vespers with the Benedictine Monks there. They were in full habit, one monk even came out with his hood up. That was intense. I was able to pray in the crypt of the Basilica there which has the remains of the home Sts. Benedict and Scholastica were born in! If you don’t know their story, I suggest checking out Tommie dePaolo’s book “The Holy Twins.”

Norcia is gorgeous, lush and green surrounded my mountains and marsh. The fresh air was magnificent.

Norcia is gorgeous, lush and green surrounded my mountains and marsh. The fresh air was magnificent.

*If you’re visiting from the WIWSunday link-up, welcome, and stop by again soon!*

7 comments

  1. Sarah · May 6, 2013

    Love those pants – and the top you paired with them! And wish I was in Norcia right now. 😉

    Like

    • auntiedolly · May 6, 2013

      Thank you, Sarah! The pants are definitely my favorite right now, and my roommate let me borrow her awesome shirt! I truly think if Heaven were a place/on earth, it would look like Norcia.

      Like

  2. Audrey · May 6, 2013

    We love the holy twins! Cute hair!

    Like

    • auntiedolly · May 6, 2013

      Good to know you already own it, I was going to buy it for you! 😉

      Like

  3. Mary · May 6, 2013

    love the hair! so chic! the holy twins were the patron saints of our homeschool when my kids were still in school. st scholastica is my daughter confirmation saint. sounds like and awesome day. oh…and I heart gingham!

    Like

    • auntiedolly · May 6, 2013

      Thanks, Mary! I just love all his books. I love gingham, too! My roommate let me borrow the shirt 🙂

      Like

  4. I had red pants like that once, in high school I think. I loved them but I got rid of them because they made me self-conscious (I felt like everyone was staring at me when I wore them – not necessarily in a bad way, but I didn’t like the attention). Now I wish I still had them! I’m much more confident now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

