What I Wore: Sunday

♫”It’s a great day to be alive, I know the sun’s still shining when I close my eyes, hard times in the neighborhood, but why can’t everyday be just this good?”♫

There are no complaints here on a gorgeous Sunday morning in Roma. This morning we made our way over to Mass at the most beautiful Church here, (besides St. Peter’s of course) St. Joachim. It’s also fun because there are always the most religious sisters in one place besides St. Peter’s as well. I love the super simple songs they sing in Italian–I know almost every word in each song!

This is what I wore for such a gorgeous spring day:

IMG_5634

Top: JCPenney, Necklace: Borrowed, Skirt: Gifted, Shoes: Borrowed
IMG_5635 IMG_5642

IMG_5638

This is my fabulous photographer, roomie and friend!

Also, today is my dear nephew, Henry’s First Holy Communion! He participated in the Sacrament of Penance for the first time about a month ago, turned 7 a week ago and today is the day he will receive Our Lord! What a gift. If you wouldn’t mind say a prayer for him today!

“O Blessed Imelda, whose faith was so firm and so ardent that in the presence of the Blessed Sacrament thou were rapt in ecstasy.  We implore thee to obtain for us so lively a faith that it will transform our lives entirely. Especially now, as Henry is about to receive his First Holy Communion, may he believe firmly that our Lord and Master Jesus Christ is here present in the Most Blessed Sacrament. We offer up to Jesus thy pure and faithful heart in place of our inconstant and cold hearts. For thy sake may He hear our prayers and come soon to take possession of our souls. Amen.”

Boy's First Communion Pocket Prayer Card

*If you are visiting from the WIW link-up, welcome, and stop by soon!*

30 comments

  1. Audrey · April 28, 2013

    Amen! Thank you doll! We just prayed with you. Henry is excited! On a fashion note, Henry will be wearing the same vanilla ice cream suit that our brothers wore for their First holy communion! Praise God! So many blessings and good memories associated with those white pants and jacket.

    Love from TX!

    YOU look gorgeous!

    Like

    • auntiedolly · April 28, 2013

      You’ve gotta take a picture of him! Congrats, Auds!! 🙂 Love.

      Like

  2. Katrina · April 28, 2013

    I love your whole outfit! So classic and cute. And Roma? So awesome. I was there at this time three years ago, and it is just so beautiful in the spring!

    Like

    • auntiedolly · May 1, 2013

      Thank you, Katrina! Isn’t Italy the best! It is just stunning now that it’s spring!

      Like

  3. Caitlyn · April 28, 2013

    oh my gosh you are too cute! love both of your outfits!

    Like

  4. Megan · April 28, 2013

    SO polished, classy and put together. Absolutely love.

    Like

  5. ellenjohnson824500384 · April 28, 2013

    I love how simple and chic this ensamble is! I love your roomie’s outfit too!

    Like

  6. Jess@Cathofeminism · April 28, 2013

    I really love that shirt!

    Like

  7. Jessica @ housewifespice · April 28, 2013

    Love your outfit and your pose! I just got myself some nude patent leather heels. They go with everything!

    Like

    • auntiedolly · May 1, 2013

      Thanks, Jessica! It’s true they are fabulous, I just borrowed a friends so I need to get on that train!

      Like

  8. proverbialgirlfriend · April 28, 2013

    SO chic and classy! Love the frosty blue with the cream. 🙂 And the pop of pink on your roommate!

    Like

  9. Julia · April 28, 2013

    I love your outfit and that is what I wish I looked like when I step outside. 😉 Your hair is super cute too! (still not happy with my short hair but maybe yours will be my next inspiration.

    Like

    • auntiedolly · May 1, 2013

      Julia, thanks so much–I’m sure you rock your short hair 😉

      Like

  10. Blair · April 29, 2013

    So elegant and beautiful!

    Like

  11. Cynthia · April 29, 2013

    The skirt! Oh my goodness, so beautiful. You have to let us in on where it’s from 🙂 Just stopping by from FLAP. Your blog is lovely 🙂

    Like

    • auntiedolly · May 1, 2013

      Thank you, Cynthia! My cousin gave the skirt to me as a hand-me-down, but the tag says OVR. Never heard of it??

      Like

  12. Stephanie · April 29, 2013

    So Roman Holiday! Literally! You look beautiful and so classy, Catherine!

    Like

  13. Mary · April 29, 2013

    Loving this outfit. So simple, elegant and classic. The button detail on the skirt is fabulous. Happy Sunday in Rome!!

    Like

  14. Kiera @Contranaut Girl · April 29, 2013

    You look so beautiful! I love that color blue. Glad you had a great day.

    Like

  15. I love your outfit! so classy and simple. The aqua/mint is gorgeous too. Also, your roomie’s outfit is great 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

