Pope Benedict the White

An amazing story that must be shared. Prepare your mind to be blown.

We have two priests who help out in our community very frequently, and from what I can tell they are very close and do a lot together. They both told us this story the other night. Fr. Corolla, one of our chaplains, met Cardinal Ratzinger in 1999. He had the chance to converse with the then Cardinal and Fr. Corolla said “Your Eminence, sometimes when I study great minds I feel I was born too late. Then I see what my students are doing and I think I was born too early.” To which Cardinal Ratzinger replied, “Son, you were born at just the right time when the Lord wanted to use you, and you will do great things.”

A couple years later Fr. Corolla saw the Lord of the Rings movie, and the conversation that Gandalf and Frodo have:
“I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo.
“So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

1) Gandalf says the same thing to Frodo as Benedetto says to Fr. Corolla. 2) Gandalf the Grey turns into Gandalf the White (Cardinal Ratzinger turns into Pope Benedict XVI). 3) And then Gandalf doesn’t die, he just sails off (Pope Benedict doesn’t die, he sails off to “Castel Gandolpho). Fr. Corolla exclaimed “Pope Benedict is Gandalf!” Excitedly, Fr. Justin, the other priest in the chaplaincy proclaims, “Fr. Corolla, if Pope Benedict is Gandalf, that makes you Frodo!” And Fr. Corolla goes “Wait!” and he starts digging around under his shirt and pulls out a ring on a chain! He said it is his mother’s wedding ring that his dad gave him when she died. And if that all isn’t enough…someone yells out “If Fr. Corolla is Frodo, Fr. Justin, that makes you Sam!” Little did he know, Fr. Justin said Samwise was his favorite character in all of literature just two days before…

Boom shockalocka.

One comment

  1. Mumsy · March 26, 2013

    I never watched LOR, but just the Gandalf/Gandolpho part gives me goosebumps.

    Like

Leave a Reply

