What I Wore Sunday

Today we went to Mass at “Sancto Spiritu.” This parish, as a part of the Year of Faith, has Mass every weekend in English. It’s really great to actually be able to enter into the Mass and meet other English speakers! After Mass was Pope Benedict’s last Angelus in St. Peter’s Square! What a momentous occasion to say the least.

IMG_5381

This little grotto is in our backyard.

IMG_5383

Earrings: Old Navy, Dress: Shabby Apple, Bracelets: Burlington, Leggings: Thrifted, Boots: Target

Question: How do you make it so that your dress doesn’t cling to your leggings?

**If you are visiting from the WIW Sunday link-up, welcome, and stop by again soon! :) **

21 comments

  1. Kinsi · February 24, 2013

    Answer: Are you wearing a slip? Wearing a silky slip (half would be fine- don’t need a full one) should help.

    Also, DRESSES WITH SLEEVES, hoorah!

    And… yes, amazing and crazy and wonderful that you’re in Italy for such a momentous time!

    Like

    • auntiedolly · February 24, 2013

      Aww man, another layer? Well…if it does the trick! Thanks!

      Like

  2. Hallie @ Moxie Wife · February 24, 2013

    Oh, I just love the way you paired those cute boots with that gorgeous dress. Adorable!

    Someone once told me that if you rub the inside of your dress and the outside of your leggings with a dryer sheet that it will help with cling. I haven’t tried it yet but it might be worth a shot!

    Like

  3. Stephanie · February 24, 2013

    Oh my goodness, I want to reach into that picture and borrow your rain boots! This is a fantastic look!

    Like

  4. Jeannine · February 24, 2013

    Really beautiful color and shape. You really have an eye for this, don’t you?

    thank you for the inspiration!

    Like

  5. andrea · February 24, 2013

    Static Guard. Available at Target and other places.

    Like

  6. Mary Fink · February 24, 2013

    Such a cute dress!

    Like

  7. Kiera @Contranaut Girl · February 24, 2013

    I love that dress on you! The color and style bring out your beauty. I really want to get something from Shabby Apple, but just never took the plunge. Maybe I just will now.

    Like

  8. laurachristine06 · February 24, 2013

    Love your dress, Catherine! And how wonderful to be there at the Pope’s last Angelus and receive his blessing!

    Like

  9. Ali Coffman · February 24, 2013

    I know a slip doesn’t sound appealing, but I have completely converted! It prevents legging-cling, static cling, sweat-cling (in the summer), and also for dresses of finer fabrics it prevents seeing your leg outlines in bright light. Slips today are really lightweight with seamless waistbands (if you don’t want to wear a full-dress slip)- you forget you’re wearing them! I got mine at Target- one of the best wardrobe investments I’ve made in a while!

    Like

  10. Jennifer · February 24, 2013

    Your dress is adorable, as everyone mentioned, but I am most impressed by your natural looks and poses! Mine always seem to so stiff and boring and awkward! Thanks for for sharing your outfit–it’s so great!

    Like

    • auntiedolly · February 24, 2013

      Thank you so much, Jennifer! I’m sure yours are great 🙂

      Like

  11. Beth (A Mom's Life) · February 24, 2013

    I hate slips but I think that’s the answer to your problem. I love the detail on that dress, by the way. So pretty!

    Like

  12. Amy @ so many things to love... · February 25, 2013

    Oh that periwinkle blue just makes me think of Spring! Good choice.

    Like

  13. Andrea · February 25, 2013

    I have come so close to purchasing that dress several times. It looks beautiful on you!
    Add me to the crowd suggesting a slip! They seem so old-ladyish. But, they are so helpful. I hate cling.

    Like

  14. Erica S. · February 25, 2013

    You look very pretty! I love my slips for all the same reasons that Ali mentioned.

    Like

  15. In the least creepy way possible, I am swooning ALL over your blog right now!! I very, very much want that dress!!

    Like

  16. Mary · February 26, 2013

    You look absolutely lovely. Such a smart choice adding the boots along with your sweetly styled dress. Fabulous! Loving the collar detail as well.
    Enjoy your time in Rome. How awesome that you’re there during this most incredible time in church history. Just amazing!

    Like

  17. Julia · February 26, 2013

    I love the rainboot and dress combo! I have been wanting rainboots for a while. Enjoy Rome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

