“What do you call this, Asparagus Bread?”

I went to a dinner party a couple weeks ago and was asked to bring a vegetable. Immediately I thought “Nice! I have a ‘mixed medley’ of vegetables in the freezer!” However my host requested I bring fresh vegetables… So I scoured my food board on Pinterest to find a vegetable recipe and feasted my eyes on an Asparagus Gruyere Tart. It looked super simple but delicious.

I made my way over to Lund’s (which I will never step foot in again due to the prices and lack of selection of asparagus! among other things) and picked out my ingredients, excited to get the baking process underway. Instead of cheese like this recipe calls for, I went with Rondelé® garlic and herbs spreadable cheese. “Gruyere Cheese” just really scared me. I think the spreadable cheese worked well! Also, I bought asparagus that had already been trimmed in half, so all that I bought was usable, however I don’t think it would be the end of the world if you also used the bottom halves of the stalks.

I bought enough ingredients to make two full-sized tarts, and put both pastry doughs in the oven at once. But after the 15 minutes of browning the dough, the bottom pastry was completely burnt and the top one was much browner than I ever would have liked, so I would suggest following the directions on the actual dough package, not the recipe, and take into consideration how your oven works AND don’t make two at once!

I was only able to bring one tart to the dinner party, but it was a hit. One gal said she had three pieces, another said it was the highlight of her night. Disclaimer: I was feeling a little under the weather so I never actually tried it, so we will just have to take their word for it! I cut mine into 8 pieces with a pizza cutter.

DSCN2735

At least mine looked like it was supposed to! Have you tried any food recipes from Pinterest? If so, how did it/they turn out?

Leave a Reply

