Tailored Jacket

The first project we had this past semester in my “Advanced Construction Methods” class was a tailored jacket. It definitely was the most difficult project I have completed to date. I used a Vogue pattern for the first time. I liked it, but it definitely lived up to its Vogue reputation: having lots of pattern pieces and lots of detail. We had to choose a wool fabric because that tailors the best (it really holds the shape you manipulate). It took us a month, but I really learned a lot, and now really understand why a good, well-fitted, quality jacket/blazer is the price-point it is.

Line Art

This is the inside of the lapels. That whitish fabric is called “horse-hair canvas” and it is a very rough, stiff type of interfacing used in jackets to help shape the lapels and collar. It was hand sewn to the under collar every 1/4th of an inch and this alone took me a good 16 hours. Talk about a labor of love.

We had to make our own shoulder-pads.

The inside is lined with a pink rayon.

Jacket: Vogue Pattern, Necklace: New York and Company, Skirt: Old Navy, Shoes: Target

**If you are visiting from the WIW Sunday link-up, welcome, and stop by again soon! :)**

15 comments

  1. Audrey 'Huss' Charba · January 20, 2013

    What a cute pattern! I really like the dress that is in the pattern package too…in case you need more practice ;p

    Like

  2. Andrea · January 20, 2013

    Wow..you are so talented. That’s awseome – I can’t follow a pattern for the life of me so you really have a gift! Great red skirt with the jacket. You look lovely.

    Like

  3. jizazito · January 20, 2013

    Wow, your sewing skills are really impressive! You have quite the gift. Beautiful!

    Like

  4. Mary · January 20, 2013

    OH.my.GRACIOUS! That jacket is stunning! I am also a seamstress who is still learning my way and I have yet to take on a project like this one The details are wonderful. You have a talent my friend. Incredible work. Well done!!

    Like

  5. Kinsi · January 20, 2013

    Now, see- this is why I need to re-learn to sew. Most of my projects involve cleaning nowadays 😉

    Like

    • auntiedolly · January 21, 2013

      Kinsi, what I have found helps me sew is to keep my machine set-up and ready. That way when the thought comes my way, I don’t have the excuse of “it would take too long to set up,” because it already is!

      Like

  6. Cari Donaldson (@CariDonaldson) · January 21, 2013

    Oh my gosh. The mind recoils at how intricate that pattern is. 16 hours just on the lapel? Holy smokes.
    But the finished product is so, so beautiful. I am particularly in love with the stitching detail on the back.

    Like

    • auntiedolly · January 21, 2013

      Thanks so much, Cari, it definitely takes lots of practice!

      Like

  7. Ellen Thrifty & Chic Mom · January 21, 2013

    I am in awe you made that what amazing craftsmanship you really have a gift!

    Like

    • auntiedolly · January 21, 2013

      Thank you so much, Ellen! It’s growing on me 😉

      Like

  8. Stephanie · January 21, 2013

    Gorgeous! You are so talented! I’ve developed a deep love for peplums lately =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

